GRAR Government Affairs Committee

It is the role of this Committee to:

  • Promote service by REALTOR® members on local boards and/or commissions.
  • Organize members and boost responses to MAR and NAR legislative calls-to-action.
  • Inform members of NAR’s RPAC policies and issues.
  • Interview candidates for elective office and ballot initiative committees (if any) and make endorsement and PAC recommendations to the Board of Directors.
  • Monitor and review local public policy initiatives that directly or indirectly affect the membership property rights, and affordable housing and make recommendations to the Board of Directors. This can be accomplished via a key person program or some other method as determined by the Committee.
  • Host legislative events in an effort to maintain communications and rapport with elected officials (State Legislators, Kent County Commissioners, Grand Rapids City Officials, Mayors/Supervisors).
  • Research and use, when applicable, the NAR Get Active program.

David A. Jackson – Chairperson
Paul Bunce – Vice Chair
Russ Baker
Patricia Caston
Dave DeBruyn
Stephanie Dufford
Duke Gray
Melissa Homewood
Steve Katerberg
Susan Kazma
Bob Kirchgessner
Tom Koetsier
Melissa Mitchell
Andrew Norden
Jordan Painter
Clay Powell
Bob Schautz
Pam Schwallier
Kim Southwick
Gene Szpeinski
Adam Paarlberg – Director Liaison
Julie Rietberg, Staff Liaison